I look at my email, and see an email from a company I don’t do business with. So I open it up and read it, and see what i already know to be a scam. Below is the contents of the email…

Dear [email address],

Your account is locked for outgoing transfers and credit/debit card payments therefore we cannot complete this transaction.

To unlock your account, you must restore your account. Please visit unlock.moneybookers.com and submin your information..

Thank you for choosing Moneybookers!

*******************************

Moneybookers Ltd., London, Registered in England and Wales no 4260907.
Registered office: Welken House, 10-11 Charterhouse Square, London, EC1M 6EH, United Kingdom.
Authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority of the United Kingdom (FSA).

So I go over the hyperlink (unlock.moneybookers), which says something completely different. So, I copy the link, and throw it into a safe-mode browser, and go there. As soon as I hit enter it redirects me to another site (agsoftware.ca) where they (I guess) attempted to clone the MoneyBookers site, except for the fact that all the links were set for that site. So, I go to the direct agsoftware website, and find it’s just a blank page (Obviously by now, if someone hasn’t caught on, they’re complete idiots).

So I document everything (links, email content, headers, etc.) and start writing an email to the actual MoneyBookers company, which can be found below…

Hello,

I’m sending this email to give your company a heads up, in case you hadn’t already been
aware. If this is actually sent from your company, I sincerely apologize, but you could
see the cause for concern with the URI redirects, and misuse of non-localized websites.

I recently received an email stating that my account was locked, and a transaction could
not be completed until I followed the enclosed link and unlocked it.

I have attached the email in .txt format, with the corresponding URI’s from each step in
their scam.

Have a great day.

Regards,

Nito

So, hopefully they can get that taken care of, before anyone actually starts handing out their information to the scam site, which could potentially ruin that company. Can’t trust a company that can’t keep its customers safe.

Anyways, if you get an email from MoneyBookers.Com, saying anything close to what’s in this blog, do NOT follow the link and put your login information in.

[EDIT]

I just got an email back from the actual MoneyBookers company:

Dear [Name],

Thank you for notifying us. This is a phishing attack against our website and we are already investigating the issue.

Best regards,
Moneybookers Security

Until next time,

Nito